In response to: “Non-British citizens shouldn’t have the right to vote”.

Can I ask *why* you feel that non-UK citizens who pay taxes should be denied a vote? NB: “Because they’re not British,” is not a valid answer unless you can define “British” without the use of, “They possess a British passport.”

Commonwealth, Irish, Cypriot and Maltese citizens may be eligible to vote in UK general elections – can I ask your feelings in regards to this? If you’re OK with their voting, please specify why you feel they are more qualified than – for example – a person of Italian heritage who was born and grew up in the United Kingdom but who holds an Italian passport.

What is it that you believe qualifies a “British” tax payer to vote in general elections, when a tax-payer of another nationality is unqualified? NB: Again, “Because they’re not British,” is not a valid answer unless you can define “British” without the use of, “They possess a British passport.”

I’m honestly trying to see this from another POV, but every angle I look at it, those wishing to deny the vote to non-British UK taxpayers just looks like a bit of a dick. Sorry, not sorry.

One of the basic cornerstones of democracy is that there should be “no taxation without representation.” By denying a vote to non-UK citizens paying tax in Britain, the government are being turds.

And before some smart-ass makes a comment about my filthy, foreign name, I’m five generations Yorkshire on both sides (when there’s an exotic blip and a great aunt comes from Glasgow). I joined the ranks of “stolen women” when I married an immigrant nine years ago and from where I’m sat, I’d rather be anything than British right now, because the xenophobic, nationalistic, asshattery that’s going on makes me ashamed of where I’m from every time I take out my god-forsaken, laughing-stock-of-the-world passport.

And you know what, normally I’d try and be polite about this, and make measured arguments, and do my best to be a decent human being, but fuck that. This isn’t fucking fair.

