Hello,

I’m sure you’ve been inundated with lots of other people, emailing on behalf of the StopFundingHate campaign. I’m another one of them.

I’m a UK national who moved back to Britain in 2007 after a brief stay in Denmark. My husband and I chose to live here because people were tolerant, and that was an enormous change compared to the bigotry I faced in Denmark. But slowly, the UK has grown increasingly worse, and in the last few months, has surpassed anything my Scandinavian home ever managed.

I don’t want to go back to how things were here – -I know that there is no going back. I want us to move forwards as a nation until we are truly tolerant, rather than merely hiding our prejudices in the shadows whilst waiting for the chance to spew our malice. But for us to move forward, large, trusted retailers like John Lewis need to take their social responsibilities seriously and stop funding the hate-filled rhetoric of the tabloid press.

Please, if Lego – a product of a nation whose inhabitants repeatedly told me to ‘Go home’ – can lead the way in this, then John Lewis can absolutely follow.

Many thanks,
Fran Moldaschl

