This challenge to not buy anything I don’t ‘need’ is getting increasingly tough…

In my defense, I have been slowly going through my yarn stash as I crochet dishcloths and get involved in craft swaps, but for the most part, it’s been a bit of a struggle not to replenish what I’m using as I go. My natural inclination is to finish something up and go shopping for new supplies, so revisiting stuff I started ages ago is proving a challenge.

That said, it’s actually been really nice to get around to doing some of the things I promised myself I’d have a go at. I’m nearly finished the amazing First Law trilogy by Joe Abercrombie (despite having started reading it last year on the rail trip I took round Europe), and I’m  – very slowly – getting through my back-catalogue of stuff that was free on the PSN. I have also managed to get my current story to just past the 62000 word mark, so I’m absolutely thrilled with how that’s going and to try and keep me focused on it, I’ve been neglecting my beloved console a bit (also, I’m trying to forget all the Mass Effect I’ve played so that it’ll be new to me next time 😛 ).  And in craft news, I’m about a quarter of the way through two Christmas presents, half way through a cardigan for Bub and have just finished some storage bags for the backs of my dining chairs (which I’ll take pictures of tomorrow if someone reminds me to). I have some tutorial shots of how to change a single bed cover into cot sheets which I’ll post if anyone is interested too, as I’ve been doing a lot of that of late. *

Speaking of the child, she is going through something of an epic growth spurt just now so I’ve organised a clothes swapping session with some local ladies in the hopes that we’ll all end up with some nice new togs for our Littles, but I’ve never done anything even remotely like this before so we’ll see how it goes. The idea is that everyone brings the clothes they don’t want, swaps them for the clothes they do, eats a pile of cake and then goes home again. For those coming without any clothes to exchange, there’ll be a pot for donations and any money can be passed on to an elected charity. Sounds awesome in theory but chances are I’ll somehow make a total boob of myself 😛

At the end of the day though, I’ve been buying second hand for years and doing that isn’t so much of a problem. I know that I should purchase used instead of new – the issue is that I’m purchasing things that I don’t even need. Take liquid soap for example – I’ve been buying that in despite having loads of bars of the stuff. All it took was a quick google search to find a recipe for turning soap bars into liquid soap and twenty minutes to actually make the gloop. Yet for some reason, I’d never thought to do this before.

My spending at the supermarket is also a personal bone of contention, so I resolved to try and stick to seasonal, British goods a bit more.   When I started this endeavour,  I really wanted to get the Tregothan tea that’s grown in Cornwall as it is by far the most local brew available, but I just can not afford it. I get that it’s more ethically sound and there’s only a tiny plantation worth of tea for each flush but… I think it’s priced itself out of the market for most consumers. So I settled on a local purveyor of teas called Butterworth & Son, who make the best hard water tea I have ever tried, so it’s not all bad.

And in amongst all this seemingly great saving? I spent £90 on a second hand Tula baby carrier, despite not selling one of the two slings it was supposed to be replacing. We’ve recarpeted both bedrooms in the house (with 100% wool, British carpets, mind you), and I smashed the front door so need to pay to have that one fixed.

My point is, there are many good things about living this way, but there are also many bad things. Namely, the lack of DLC I have for my favourite games and the fact my hair remains its natural colour.

_____

*Charity shops are full of single duvet covers. Why do they never have anything for cots?

