I finally finished playing Dragon Age: Origins… and then the much maligned Dragon Age: II. Which isn’t a bad game – for the record – it’s just not as good as the first. The best way to describe it is by telling you to imagine Origins as the popular kid in school. You know the one – he had the Optimus Prime toy that the rest of us could only dream of. II is like his younger brother. You hang out with him because he’s nice enough and there’s that promise of awesome Transformers. And though said toys never really materialise, it’s nice to think that they might be in the house somewhere. Besides, no sequel lacking Zevran and Alistair to insult one another as you’re running around really stood a chance.

So S- bought me Skyrim. And I was so excited. I mean, I was nearly as excited about Skyrim as I am about my trip around Europe in the spring.

I still desperately want to love this game. It’s so pretty, and I actually have a horse to roam around the countryside on for once*… but so far I’m not feeling the love everyone else seems to. It’s not that the world is lacking in any way – it’s really not. Running around shopping, gathering herbs, visiting mead halls and such feels so involved that it has shades of the every day about it. Which is the problem I suppose.

When I play a game, I want to be transported away from the every day. I play games rather than watch films of an evening because I want to feel that what I’m doing matters – like I’m achieving something by letting my backside grow on the sofa. There is no sense of urgency in Skyrim. I don’t feel as though anything is at stake. Even Dragon Age: II felt more pressing, despite its limited setting and lamentable plot, because you were surrounded by people who relied on you for whatever reason. The loneliness in Skyrim just makes everything seem a little pointless.

I will continue playing for a little while, but since I am not as consumed by this game, I might actually be able to return to a bit of knitting in the evenings. Ooh! And writing…

________

*I’ve wanted a mount since playing Phantasy Star on the Dreamcast.

