“Madness, Mother,” Bub’s gaze seems to say, “Why would I want the oatcake when you’re eating a cookie?” She dives for the cookie and licks it before I can stop her. Smiles abound as she spends the next half hour sucking on the thing so as to better disolve its sugary goodness for ingestion.

Her mother is mad, though not just on the oatcakes vs cookie front. I will be selling crafts I am yet to create at the Risby Farmers’ Market…

… on the first Saturday in December. It seemed ages away last night when I said I’d do it, but today, sitting down to knit, it occurs to me just how soon it is. You may not hear from me until it’s all over. You may, on the other hand, hear lots from me as I procrastinate. In any case, if you’re in the area that day and fancy saying ‘hi’, do come by and have a nosey at the organised people who will actually have products at their stalls…

