I’ve been sat at the machine for two hours now, battling with the nappy bag. As far as I can tell, the new needles aren’t up for the job of sewing in zips. Whilst I never had to touch the machine’s tension with the last needle, these ones seem to require it adjusting for each individual stitch. I could cry, I really could.

Mum has suggested taking the bag somewhere that does alterations and paying them to finish it, but the method in which I work doesn’t really lend itself to other people taking over. As in, I’ve got no pattern and no notes – other than the ones in my head and the odd mark on the fabric – so trying to explain what I’m trying to do and why the whole thing is held together with pins might take some time. And I’d actually be worried that they would judge me for my messy edges.

SOME TIME LATER…

I am now hand stitching the rest of the bag. When I first started, I was incredibly stressed out by the concept of putting in four zips with nothing but a needle and thread, however I’m actually really enjoying this. It’s nice to sit on the sofa, not really concentrating on anything other than making a neat line. I’ve been so grumpy over the last few days – without good cause I might add – that giving myself time to think has been hugely comforting. I’ve had no reason to be cross at everything. I just needed to take some deep breaths and admit to myself that I’m not a super woman – that I need time to nap and make delicious foods. It’s funny how being forced to turn away from mechanised sewing can make you realise that the world still functions just as well – if not better – at a slower pace. So if you’ll excuse me, it’s back to work…

