Recently, a friend of mine wrote about how money influenced her life. I think that perhaps because I am kept woman these days, money isn’t so much of a deciding factor for me, but food certainly is.

When I plan a gathering of friends, I spend at least a few days plotting the menu and the snacks. When I’m feeling a bit down – for whatever reason – it makes me feel a lot better if I can start baking, making jams, drying herbs. I think it’s because putting down stores feels like I’m being productive, like I’m doing something to help myself out in some way and when I’m miserable, the thought of making progress in anything really spurs me on. Food is such a positive thing in my life that I have a really hard time understanding people who abuse it.

I’ve been watching Channel 4’s Supersize vs Superskinny recently and it really breaks my heart that people can have such a bad relationship to something that is such an intrinsic part my well-being. Yes, on the one level food is simply a fuel. We take it in so that our bodies can function. On the other hand, food can be a wonderful, soul nourishing thing. I hate seeing people pick at it and waste it – especially when it’s meat and something has died so that man can be nourished. Equally, I hate seeing people kill the flavours of what they’re eating by smothering things in sugary, salty sauces when the clean taste of the food itself is fabulous anyway.  There’s something really wholesome about sitting down to a salad, some bread and some meat, rather than faffing around making sauces and dips and dressings…

I’m not actually really sure where I’m meant to be going with this post. It’s just that I’m getting a bit tired of knitting the same sweater for the third time, and a bit tired of looking and feeling like a beached whale, and a bit tired of not being able to bend over, or drive, or do anything really other than point at things I want, knit, and cook. I’m glad S- is off work at the moment because the cat and I have run out of conversation topics. She keeps pitching the same suggestions all the time, and whilst I do love sleeping, I’d like it if she were to concede and do something I want to for a change. I guess my writing about how much food helps me is a way of comforting myself with it, without cooking yet more things. I might have made a ridiculous quantity of food for my various visitors over the Easter weekend…

For now though, I guess I should get the washing in, eat some noodley snacks and plan my dinner… Charlie Micra has his MOT on Wednesday, which I’m dreading, but until then, I suppose I’d best do as the cat says and snooze.

