So last night, I set out to knit a tea cosy, and have somehow ended up with a pair of fingerless gloves…

I’m still not entirely sure how this happened. One minute, I had adjusted my tea cozy pattern for double-knit yarn instead of Aran and the next, I was sewing down the side of these little things, carefully leaving a space for my thumb. Also, despite having sworn I would never again knit with Wendy Wisp wool, I’ve ordered another two balls in a different shade. Having finished Mum’s birthday present – which you can see Artemis enjoying in my previous post – husband decided that his mum would also like said gift, but in blue.

Anyway, at least the gloves have given me an idea for D-‘s Christmas present. I do know it’s all rather early, but now I’ve got a bee in my bonnet – so to speak – I won’t be able to concentrate on anything else until this is done. That said, it’s time for me to press on with making more gloves so that when my new yarn arrives in the morning – S- bought this stuff to be used in gifts, I swear! – I can get on with the sweater for my father-in-law.

By the way, if you’re interested, I’m posting the fingerless tea cozy on etsy. I already have a very similar pair of gloves so they won’t get used here… If they fail to sell within the time that etsy sets for these sorts of things, I will probably add them to the pile of emergency gifts and hope for the best.

