Nettle pesto is possibly the nicest pesto I’ve had. For those of you interested in trying it, the recipe – if you can call it that – is as follows:

2 cloves of garlic
a good slosh of olive oil
a good slosh of lemon juice
salt
pepper
2 big handfuls of sunflower seeds
the tops of around 30 nettles – or two very big handfuls

All you need to do is pour some boiling water all over the nettles to blanch them a little, then blend everything together and use as you would normal pesto. I had a goodly tablespoon on some fresh pasta, but it’d go very well on a pizza base to make a garlic bread, or in a soup, or even as part of a Quiche or salad dressing. I’m also told that it goes very well on peas and as my source for this can cook better than the chef at that Michelin starred restaurant I went to, I feel the need to pass this information along. Next time, I’d like to use rapeseed oil because, like the sunflower seeds, I can get it very locally.

In addition to the fridge-pesto, the great freezer stock-up of easy, quick foods for post poppage is going rather well and I am now hoarding two big boxes of mince and tomato sauce, one of chilli con carne, some sweet potato falafel, some home made tortillas and I will be making real-fruit ice lollies when my moulds arrive. Last summer, I spent a rather disturbing amount of time with my ice-cream maker and though I’d love to predict that this summer will produce similar frozen treats, I’m being realistic and buying lolly moulds to fill with blended fruit. Hopefully husband will not object too much…

In other news, the very geeky tank-top that I have been working on for my brother has gone from being a point of personal pride to another item for the knitting wall of shame. The blocky shape of the body will look horrible on D-‘s stupidly thin frame and though I used the smallest size and smallest gauge in the pattern book – subtracting a further 10 stitches to reduce front and back by an inch in width each – the body has come up 3 inches wider than it should have and now measures a portly 21 inches across when laid flat.  D- told me to make it 18 inches wide which happened to be the width of a t-shirt he felt fit him properly and as I don’t recall him having a penchant for skinny clothes, I imagine this will look rather big indeed.

It does, however fit S- perfectly so at least now I know which size I should make for him, should I ever want to knit him something. After the last few attempts though – both of which have been unravelled – I’m not sure I’d bother. The ‘Knits Men Want’ book insists that as long as garments are simple, men will like them, but I couldn’t possibly have made the scarf and hat any simpler than I did and they still went unused in favour of a leather fedora and a scarf I made in garter stitch whilst drunk.*

S- is trying to make pacman with his hand.

Husband is worryingly comfortable modelling...

The v-neck was actually quite fun to make, rather than being the arduous task I'd initially thought it would be.

______

* I was at university. I spent a disproportionate amount of my third year drunk on cheap red ‘wine’ that my house mate purchased for €4. It was in a giant plastic barrel from a French ferry shop and caused all manner of temper-tantrums and dreadful hangovers. Following the Eurovision incident – during which I drank so much ‘wine’ that I could no longer hear afore-mentioned house mate attempting to sing along using teletext’s subtitles feature – I vowed never again to drink poor quality antifreeze and switched instead to cider and tequila. I have not looked back since.

