Yesterday I had my first blimp day.

None of my clothes fit any more and those of S-‘s which do are all shades of Kurt Cobain. I’m don’t usually mind looking like I fell out of a grunge band, but sometimes, wearing your own clean clothes is quite pleasant and that I suddenly couldn’t do that was quite upsetting.

I bought a gorgeous hot pink maternity dress for my girlie trip to the theatre, so thought I’d wear that to make me feel better. Only it turns out that even pregnant women can’t have boobs. I’ve always had issues with finding tops to fit my 34DD chest, but now that I’m some degree further down the alphabet it’s apparently even harder. On closer inspection, the dress is simply very poorly cut, but in a hormonal fit of rage, I decided I was a freak of nature and would never look good in anything. Ever.

Anyways, to cheer myself up, I bundled myself into the car and set off for Cambridge. My plan was to eat chilli squid at Wagamama and buy myself some maternity clothes – something I’ve put off doing until now. Only I found my way into John Lewis first and blew almost half of my budget on wool and knitting books instead…

As a result, my tedious stocking-stitch sweater has fallen by the wayside for now and I have embarked on the creation of a hot water bottle cover, using Patons ‘shadow tweed’ wool. Not only does this yarn have an amazing name, but it’s also absolutely beautiful. It is so soft and the gently graduating colours of reds, browns and purples look amazing. I was planning to try some fancy stitch work with this simple project, but with the wool being as glorious as it is, I decide that stocking stitch was the best way to do it justice. So much for having an interest break from the sweater…

I did eventually pull myself together and buy some new clothes, though in the end I couldn’t bring myself to spend £40 on a single top, simply because it said ‘maternity’ on it. I went to New Look instead and bought piles of cheap, jersey knit drapey things in biscuity colours which don’t make me look green like the dress did, and which I’ll be able to wear long after baby arrives. I am pleased, and slightly proud, to report that I still only need a size 12. Take that stupid sack-like maternity pink dress…

In other news, now I’m not working, I am able to wear my RCPM leather bracelet again which makes me very happy. One day, I will make enough money to own a silver bangle with the words ‘here’s to life’ inscribed.

