I don’t normally do cake – partially because others do it so much better, and partially because I can never remember just what I threw into the Victoria Sponge mix – but last night’s emergency pudding turned out really well so I thought I’d share the recipe.

You don’t have to add the thyme if you think it’s a little weird (as some of my guests did when I told them what the green bits were), however I loved it so much that when I make this again, I’ll be adding twice as much.

White Chocolate, Raspberry and Thyme muffin cake

125g self-raising flour – ideally wholemeal if you can find it
25g oatmeal
50g sugar – I used white granulated, but I think golden castor would be better
½ tsp bicarbonate of soda
pinch of salt
1 egg
50g melted butter
100ml molk – I used unhomogenised Jersey milk, but full fat would also work well
100g raspberries – the frozen ones from Waitrose are amazing
75g white chocolate – cut into chunks, or pre-made chips
1 tsp freshly chopped thyme – I will add 2 for the next cake.

Mix together all your dry ingredients and – if you’re using frozen fruit – the raspberries.
Add the egg, milk and butter. The batter will be lumpy and unattractive, and turns out best if you don’t over-stir as this breaks up the raspberries.
Spoon into a loaf tin or, if you prefer, muffin cases.
Bake at 200C for around 35-40 minutes. You may want to cover the cake with tin foil mid-way to stop the top looking burned as this mixture does brown very quickly.

