I just put slightly over half a tank of petrol in my Micra and was horrified to note that said fuel cost £37. I might be rose-tinting this slightly, but I could swear that not too long ago, a whole tank cost only £30.

What’s really getting me worked up though, is the fact that no one seems bothered about it. Doesn’t anyone else remember the fuel protests of ten years ago? I might have missed the point of them, having been too young to sit behind a wheel, but wasn’t everyone super-cross that the cost of petrol was due to go up to – shock horror – £1 per litre? Why aren’t we protesting the cost of petrol now? It’s cripplingly bad!

At the moment, despite the fact I’ve saved up over £1000 to enable me to keep my car on the road for another year, I honestly don’t think I can. Whilst my little nest-egg would easily pay for the tax, MOT, service and insurance, the fuel would be a crippling blow to my soon-to-be-tiny weekly budget. And there’s nothing else I can cut out of my life to give me a little more cash to play with. I guess the fact that I won’t be commuting will help, but not-driving isn’t really an ideal solution…

In other news, this weekend’s Norwich trip – fondly dubbed Christmas 2 – was amazing. It’s incredible how festive it’s possible to feel in the presence of a tree, the Muppet’s Christmas Carol and too much food. Thankfully, everyone loved their homemade gifts, though I wish I’d baked more for the boys. I guess there’s always next year…

It reminded me just how much I love all the people I stayed in touch with post-university, and just how much I miss them all in day-to-day life. When you go from seeing people daily – or at the very least, weekly – to seeing them once every few months, it’s always a bit of a wrench. Part of me wishes I’d stayed in Norwich, but with everyone scattered to the winds now, I doubt there’d be much more regular contact with my little posse. I suppose these meetings serve to remind, rather than recreate – brief snapshots of a moment in time that didn’t last nearly as long as I wish it had.

Euch. You can tell I wrote this over two days and finished at hideous am. I’ve turned all miserable and poetic on you…

Time to post this, eat my grapefruit, then go and earn some more petrol money…

