And now for another thrilling installment about that oh-so-exciting household item, the sewing machine. I promise, I’ll write about something ‘cool’ again before too long… *

I took the Jones down from its shelf yesterday, threaded it up and set to making my final remaining gifts for Christmas 2. As ever, the ancient machine performed valiantly – the second I cranked the handle, a row of perfect stitches appeared through ever-increasing layers of thick wool fabric. After five minutes of pleasurable sewing, where – for a change – what I wanted to happen, happened, I had done all of the machine stitching on the two items which had been causing me the most worry.

As it turns out, I should have panicked less about the quality of stitching and more about the quality of design. I’ll show you what i mean after the weekend…

In any case, both gifts are functional, but I think neither is pretty. Also, I’ve discovered that even with my beautiful Jones CS, I can’t sew in a straight line. The parallel bars which were meant to run through this project are at somewhat drunken angles and due to my increasingly-limited range of thread colours – I really need to top up Nan’s supplies! – are rather visible on at least one side of the fabric…

No matter. I’m a great believer in the power of buttons. If you use enough of them, even the ugliest project can take on a küki** sort of charm. I wonder if ebay sells them by the kilo… I don’t think the Quality Streets tin I have full will be enough…

______

*You can’t see me, but I’m raising an eyebrow in a sceptical sort of way to indicate that I’ve never done a cool thing in all my life.

**Küki = Cooky. It’s a slang word and I’ll spell it how I like! If I want funny German dots I’ll have them, thank you very much!

