Does anyone else’s cat bite them when it’s feeling especially loving? Or follow them round, howling, until lap is available for sitting on? I’m not really complaining – I wanted a total cuddle-slut of a cat – but at 5am, when you’re not really sure where you’re going, or which way is up, this uber-affection can become something of a challenge…

I am really starting to hate these early mornings – it’s not the getting up at 5.30 which does it either. It’s the thousands of times I wake up during the night, panicking that it’s long past 5.30 and that I’ve overslept. And as soon as I’m awake, I lie there for about ten minutes, thinking about how I should be sleeping and planning what I’ll do next time I wake up to help me get back to sleep. Then I wake up again and keep repeating this process. Of course, when I’m not doing an early morning, I can sleep right through without any difficulty. It’s as though my body enjoys this strange countdown.

Originally, I tried things like valerian root tea, drinking hot milk before bed and – believe it or not – excercise. The cat was far too interested in the valerian (also known as cat mint) and the milk though, and I don’t think that after 11 hours of working on my feet, that 20 minutes of pilates is going to tire me out more than my day already has.

Answers on a postcard, people. I’m off into the fray…

