Time seems to be evaporating at present. No matter how hard I work, I don’t seem to be getting anywhere. I don’t know whether it’s because the Christmas deadline is coming and I’m starting to feel a little stressed about finishing all my gifts in time, or whether it’s simply because I’m trying to do too much in my increasingly decreasing leisure hours. Either way, the days seem to pass in a matter of minutes, and whilst that isn’t so bad while I’m at work, it’s not great when I’m at home and want to chill out for a few brief hours.

Still, today is a day off and I intend to make the most of it by catching up on the BBC’s Turn Back Time show about the british high street, thinking about how to wrap my gifts, pressuring husband into writing the German Christmas cards for his family, and showing you all this little guy…

I made him from a free pattern I found online, some leftover wool and far too much stuffing from ebay. Though the instructions didn’t call for a scarf, I felt it prudent in the current weather to give him one… Also the neck joint looked quite messy.

Don’t get me wrong, had I not set out to make soap, source antique books, knit my bodyweight in wool and sew until the machine conked out, my skill set would be far poorer. I now know how to decipher ‘k2tog, skpo’, how to handle caustic soda, and which stores are likely to sell books that have been out of print for 40+ years. The mad homemade rush has been a steep learning curve, and I’m starting to feel a little tired now, but I would do it again next year for sure – possibly starting as early as January…

In any case, after Christmas is finished, I will post photos of everything I’ve made and if there is the demand, go through how I made it all.

For now though, it’s time for another cuppa, to put my feet up, and enjoy a well-earned bag of crisps.

 

