This conversation actually took place at 6am on Wednesday morning. For obvious reasons, I won’t name names, but for the sake of this blog post, I will call my fellow speaker X.

Me: Morning
X: Does not acknowledge this.
Me: Moves forward with blood-pressure machine.
X: Repeat after me, you rude girl, ‘Good morning X’.
Me: I did say good morning.
X: Aggressively Well then there must just be something wrong with me then.
Me: Can I take your blood pressure?
X: Did I ask you to marry me yet?
Me: Excuse me?
X: I’ve asked two girls on here to marry me. Are you one of them?
Me: No.
X: Do you want me to ask you?
Me: I’m already married.
X: How long have you been married for?
Me: Two years now.
X: You can’t be too attached to your husband then. Are you sure you don’t want me to propose.
Me: Positive.
X: You’d be a perfect wife for me, you know?
Me: I doubt it.
X: What if I bought you flowers?
Me: I have to go and see another patient now.

What I actually did was walk into the staff room for my break and read an article about how one in three 18-30 year olds would class themselves as chronically lonely. Amongst other things, the magazine pinned the blame squarely on facebook and other social networking sites, claiming that they placed disproportionate emphasis on quantity, not quality of friends. One young woman – my age – even went so far as to invent parties in order to look more popular. On the rare occasions people asked for photographs, she would create a story about how, in a drunken stupor, she had lost her camera/pressed it on a total stranger as a gift/left it in the house of her one night stand.

Whilst I’m not the world’s greatest social networking fan – mainly because I spent my time on facebook obsessively looking for pictures of myself to comment on, turning my life into what could only be called Narcissus 2: revenge of the killer Narcissus – I don’t think it’s facebook’s fault. If you ask me, anyone vain enough (*cough* hypocrite *cough*) to value numbers over names would make a lousy friend anyways. My Norwich lovelies, M- and her wonderful family, my many J-s and a select group of other people, all punctuate my life at shamefully infrequent intervals, yet when we do meet, we get on wonderfully. I would far rather spend a little time alone, waiting for these blessed encounters, than fill my life with people I don’t care about and who don’t care about me.

The article then went on to argue that people ‘pairing off’ made single friends feel bad, ultimately ending friendships. I don’t know – perhaps I’m just lucky enough to be surrounded superhero-angel-types, but my getting married (thankfully) hasn’t adversely effected any of my friendships. Whilst I have been guilty of avoiding one of my school acquaintances on account of their partner, I’m starting to learn that real friends are just happy if you’re happy, even if it means gritting teeth and having to get on with someone they can’t stand.

So yeah… I guess what I’m trying to say is that I count myself blessed by the people I know. Except for the occasional nut job who proposes.

 

