You know who – aside from the person that made it so easy to spend money on a debit card – has a lot to answer for? Kirstie Allsopp. Since channel 4 started showing Kirstie’s Homemade Home, I’ve felt validated in my obsessive, compulsive need to shun the quick-fix Ikea lifestyle.

Suddenly, it’s alright for me to spend £66 on an antique patchwork quilt – Kirstie spent more on hers. And of course it’s ok for me to buy my bodyweight in wool without the slightest idea what to do with it because it’ll become something unique. And all those scraps of fabric I hoard? Well, Kirstie says they’ll come in handy one day, so they can continue to eat up what little space there is left in the once-man-nook.

 

My stunning new quilt on the 'for sale' spare bed... If you want a double bed frame, or a mattress, then please feel free to make an offer...

 

Today, after coming home from work, I made a chocolate banana cake and some soap. I’ve been saying I’ll make soap for the longest time, but I finally got myself in gear this afternoon and dutifully splashed a mixture of caustic soda and olive oil around the kitchen. I don’t know how successful this latest crafty attempt of mine has been, but hopefully by tomorrow I should have something which I might be able to cut into bar form, wrap in cellophane and raffia, and pack up in the Christmas hampers I’m doing.

Anyways, best be off for now. I need to make pie and then continue to call Mum until she answers – I want to know just how bad their snow is…

