I’m starting to plan my next patchwork quilt.  In theory, it’s going to be a Christmas present for S-‘s mum, however if it turns out how I want it to, she might end up with another Bill Bryson book while I snuggle under my mountainy creation…

As a general rule, L- prefers dark blue colours, but I want to create something inspired by Aberdeenshire – my ultimate Christmas sort of place – so I thought of getting lots of grey fabric, quilting that over the fleece lining I have, then sewing various blue hills onto it. Probably something like this?

I’m hoping to find most of the fabric I need in various charity shops and on ebay etc. but I’m not holding my breath. Also, John Lewis currently have some absolutely gorgeous patterns which I think could pass for heather…

On another obsessively early Christmas note, does anyone have any old balls of wool they don’t want any more? I’m knitting a Tom Baker scarf for a friend and I need as many little bits of yarn in as many colours as possible. Ideally I’m looking for shades that I would classify as ‘brown 70s optimism’ but at this stage, I’m not really fussed.

That’s all for now, I suppose. I’m off to Norwich this evening for some BBQ fun with one of my many J-‘s and C-. For the rest of the day though, I’m going on an adventure with Clive Cussler and Dirk Pitt. We’ll be capering in the Mediterranean if anyone wants us.

