Finally, after years of waiting, I have a vegetable patch!

I’m growing 2 varieties of tomatoes, some kale, some carrots and some savoy cabbage… or at least I’m trying to. I thought I’d been lucky with the rabbits – when we arrived back from M-‘s wedding on Sunday, all of my plants were intact and thriving but it seems that the small, furry horrors were just waiting for my return. Since coming home, I’ve lost all but three kale and my tomatoes. Action will be required, especially since my once-genius rabbit-catching cat seems to have given up on hunting and has taken to following me around like some kind of howling monster.

On the plus side, I did return to a big, juicy red strawberry and some chamomile flowers, ready to be dried and used in my first home-grown tea. I’ve also taken in a load of nettles so that I don’t have to go rummaging around the field every time I want a cup with some honey*.

So anyway, I thought I would share some pictures of my garden with you. I was going to show off some of the incredible cake shots from M-‘s wedding but I don’t think it’s fair that she shouldn’t be the first to see them. For now, you’ll have to content yourself with another selection from Garden Bungalow.

Summer flowers from the garden

Summer flowers from the garden

Beans in a pod

Beans in a pod

The rabbits' buffet

The rabbits' buffet

A nearly-ripe strawberry

A nearly-ripe strawberry

Alpine Strawberries - coming later in the year

Alpine Strawberries - coming later in the year

Chamomile stalks

Chamomile stalks

____

* If you suffer from hay fever, nettle tea and honey is the best way I’ve found to stop myself from sniffling. The nettle acts as a decongestant, whilst the honey – the more local the better – introduces your body to the pollens in the area and makes it less likely to have an allergic reaction.  I’m told that this is how homeopathic medicine works…

