I’ve been at the new machine again, trying desperately to sort the tension out. Whilst I can get it to make stitches that hold, it still isn’t quite right so I’m on the hunt for new needles for the Jones. I really don’t know why I feel such an affinity for my ancient cast-iron machine – I think the fact that it just works might have a significant amount to do with it though. All I even need to do is thread the needle, wind my little wheel and away I go – there’s no faffing around with tension or stitch size or anything else. Until I get some nice sharp needles for it though, it’s been ‘relegated’ to a display shelf in the dining room where it makes an absolutely stunning wall piece. It might sound a little wierd, but it really matches the speaker set that are going up in there…

Speaking of matching, I bought this stunning Obi from ebay a few weeks back. It got caught up in the volcanic ash but finally arrived from Japan a few days ago.

Hart Obi

I’m going to cut the deer out and have him framed, basically using him as the starting point for the ‘art’ that’s to go in the living room. I like the idea of stylised woodland creatures, especially things like William Morris’s Brer Rabbit pattern. So, I started looking for cross stitch versions of this, and whilst I didn’t find any, I did discover a company in Newmarket which make a kit for Morris’s ‘Strawberry thief’, something I thought was probably rather apt, given that I’ve had to start keeping an eye on my strawberry plants already. I would have preferred something slightly more green, but considering I’ll probably lose interest after I get back from Denmark, I don’t suppose it matters too much.

The Strawberry Thief by William Morris

I haven’t done any cross stitch in years, so I hope I’m not being overly ambitious by starting with something as complex as Morris’s work. Only time will tell, I suppose…

In other news, S- installed a cat flap for Artemis this weekend, as well as a kitty hammock for over the dining room radiator. Now she has her own door and her own source of nightly warmth, she has grown rather independent from us. I’d say we could win her back with food but since she eats mice anyways, this could be a long shot. Joking aside though, it’s really nice to see her so happy – it’s such a contrast to how she was when we got her. She’s gone from hiding under S-‘s desk to fighting off black labs and talking to us… constantly… at 5am.

Well, I think I’ve babbled enough. I’d best go and get dressed and start the day…

