Today’s writing prompt is a really tough one but, never one to back away from a challenge, here is my attempt to describe the weather with a single sense – touch.

____

The wind grasped rough handfuls of my hair, as if tugging me back towards the house in warning. Don’t go out in this, it seemed to say, you are not yet strong enough. The rain too pushed me back, pasting my thin layer of clothing against my icy skin. I felt rigid, clammy, as my frail shape fought against the elements. I had to know, though. I had to find out what was at the far end of the field.

____

This was a really interesting exercise and something I will definitely be taking on board when I sit down to write my book – using different senses helps to avoid cliché and you end up with something a little different to what you’d initially planned.

