I’m a great one for homemade items, as I imagine you’ve realised from my rants about mass-produced Christmas presents and the various crafy pictures I post. Yesterday though, I was watching Channel 4’s ‘Kirstie’s Homemade Home’, and was suddenly overwhelmed by the desire to go rumaging round charity shops and antique shops in the search of interesting items.

I can’t tell you exactly what I found yesterday because it’s a present for someone, but after I got home, I looked it up on ebay and discovered that my 110 year old version was less than half the price of the brand new, mass-produced import. I was so thrilled with my purchase I had to share it with someone but as the only person online was the person the gift was intended for… here we are.

Speaking of homemade things, Artemis made me a present last night. She fetched me a big, juicy mouse and let it go in the dining room. Then, when she couldn’t get it out from under the book case, she howled a lot and made S- do it. When he did managed to remove all the books on the bottom shelf, hastily try to mouse proof his computer cables, Artemis decided she wasn’t all that interested in eating the mouse afterall and went to devour some of the Pets’ Kitchen food she usually turns her nose up at. Dutifully, I set out across the field at midnight in my dressing gown, half dead mouse in hand, to dispose of the body… Her majesty is now snoozing happily on S-‘s side of the bed.

P.S.  If anyone knows anything about when to plant fruit bushes*, suggestions would be much appreciated. I have a gooseberry, raspberry and blackcurrant bush waiting to go in.

Artemis, looking smug

______________________

* Not from seed, because I’m too lazy. From Homebase ‘3 for £10’ pots.

