So when we moved house, I had one of those mad moments I get from time to time where I decided to be a grown up. I put away all but my nicest hoodie with the intention of wearing ‘real’ clothes to match my real house.

Only what actually happened was that I acquired more hoodies. And I don’t know how I do it. I don’t go out intending to buy them – no one ever heads into town with the thought, “I really fancy treating myself to a brand new top that’ll make me look like I haven’t done any washing and am still in my pajamas ” Still, here we are, nearly two years since we moved, and my cupboard is bursting with the things. Coupled with the myriad of grotty teenage monstrosities lurking in the loft, I decided something had to be done.

So, without further ado, here is how to turn unused hoodies into baby trousers – and all you need to do is sew two seams!

Step 1. Find a hoodie.

1

Step 2:  Fold the hoodie in half so that the sleeves are on top of each other.

2

Step 3:  Draw around a pair of trousers which fit your child.

3

Step 4: Cut the shape out.

4

Step 5: Figure out where your seams are going to be.

5

Step 6: Sew the crotch seam.

6

Step 7: Measure your elastic (I pulled the elastic tight on the model trousers and cut the same length for mine).

7

Step 8: Sew your elastic in. (Other people can tell you how to do this in a professional way – I can not).

8

Step 9: Do this for as many hoodies as you have.

9

 

Step 10: Allow your toddler to adorn herself in her new finery. Inevitably, some will end up as a hat.

 

10

 

 

 

